April 21, 2022 2 min read

My name is Alyssa Gonzalez. I'm an outdoors athlete, advocate and designer residing in boulder, colorado. I'm a product designer for outside inc. And also work with brands, organizations and groups to create opportunities that help eliminate barriers for underrepresented athletes in cycling and snow sports. I started skiing at 24 years old and biking at 26 -- so the "Outdoors" is a new space for me. As an advocate for women of color, black, brown and indigenous people of color and other historically marginalized folks, I hope to help others reframe their idea of who an outdoors athlete is through education, events, storytelling, and more. When I'm not in the mountains or working, you can find me sipping an oat milk matcha at my favorite coffee shop, playing with my cats or tending to my 30+ houseplants. I truly believe that the outdoors is for everyone and love sharing the joy of movement in the outdoors with my community.

Full Name: Alyssa Gonzalez
Nickname: Lyss, Lyssie, AG
Specialty: Mountain biking, gravel biking and skiing
Age: 27
Current Location: Boulder, Colorado
HEST Product: Foamy & Camp Pillow

Side, front or back Sleeper? Side

Any before bed rituals? Always have to floss, brush my teeth, do my skincare routine, clean the apartment and make a cup of tea that I usually forget to drink.

Best dream you’ve had recently summed up in 3 words? Never remember dreams

Early bird or night owl? Early bird! I usually get up as the suns rising

Coolest place you’ve ever woken up in? Volcano hut in Þórsmörk, Iceland

Land Legs or Sea Monster? Definitely land legs. I'm a mountain girl through and through.

Preferred method of getting your adrenaline/endorphins pumping? Gravity sports

What is one thing you can’t camp without? Tie between a wool blanket and coffee

Dreams & goals for the next couple years? Continue to grow as an athlete. Create and support opportunities for underrepresented athletes in the outdoors! I hope to also backpack across Thailand, Uruguay and Chile to learn more about my culture and background.